Janis Orlowski

Chief Health Care Officer

Association of American Medical Colleges

Sessions / Events:

Dr. Janis M. Orlowski is the chief health care officer at the Association of American Medical Colleges where her focus is on the interface between the health care delivery system and academic medicine. Dr. Orlowski graduated from Marquette University’s College of Engineering with a Bachelor of Science degree in biomedical engineering in 1978. She received her medical degree from the Medical College of Wisconsin in 1982. Her residency (1982–1985), her term as Chief Resident (1985–1986) and her Fellowship in Nephrology (1986–1988) were completed at Rush University Medical Center, Chicago.

Dr. Orlowski was the chief operating officer and chief medical officer of MedStar Washington Hospital Center, Washington, D.C., the largest hospital of the MedStar Health system. Dr. Orlowski oversaw the medical staff, clinical care, quality, patient safety, medical risk, perioperative services, ambulatory care and the medical education programs from 2004 to 2013.

Dr. Orlowski began her career at Rush as an intern. She left Rush as associate vice president and executive dean of the Rush University Medical School in Chicago.

Dr. Orlowski is board certified in both Internal Medicine and Nephrology. In her practice, she specializes in acute renal care and transplantation. She has been honored with teaching excellence awards, has participated in education and research in renal transplantation and has served on several national committees to oversee the quality of care in transplantation. Most recently, Dr. Orlowski chaired the national committee at UNOS (United Network for Organ Sharing) on transplant policy.
Dr. Orlowski has been the president of the Chicago Medical Society, and board member and chair of the Illinois State Medical Society. She served as editor of Disease-A-Month, and was on the editorial board of Nephrology.

In 2007 Dr. Orlowski was inducted as a Master in the American College of Physicians (ACP).
Dr. Orlowski currently serves as chair of D.C. Board of Medicine, Board of Trustees of Marquette University, Board of Montini Catholic High School and was recently appointed to the Board of Trustees of the Medical College of Wisconsin.